2018 Press Release - Stock Pitch Competition

Investors of Tomorrow hosted its ninth annual InvestYoung Stock Pitch Competition on December 1st, 2018 at the Ivey Tangerine Leadership Centre in downtown Toronto.

From 60+ competitor submissions in the preliminary round, 24 teams were invited to compete in the final round in Toronto. The groups pitched buy or sell recommendation on North American equities to judges working in the investment industry. Some of the organizations represented included Altas Partners, Bank of America Merrill Lynch, Blair Franklin, Canaccord Genuity, Evercore, Manulife, Morgan Stanley, PointNorth Capital, and Scotiabank.

Students went through a rigorous selection process consisting of multiple rounds where their thesis and valuations were put to the test by 4th year business students with prior industry experience. For the first time, the Investors of Tomorrow executive team provided two rounds of feedback on submission before potentially moving forward to the final round. This allowed students to learn the fundamentals of a stock pitch presentation before challenging themselves in front of industry professionals.

During the day representatives from Morgan Stanley, Evan Glowacki, Ryan Fantham, Rock Zhou, and Peter Shi, presented an educational presentation to competitors about a day in the industry and the recruitment process. Furthermore a representative from Altas Partners, Gareth Domingo, spoke about his experiences in investment banking and private equity. A special thanks to our long time sponsor - CFA Society Toronto for their generous and continuous support.

Here are the winners of the 2018 InvestYoung Stock Pitch Competition:

1st Place: A buy pitch of Agilent Technologies (NYSE:A) presented by Nicholas Tommasini from Western University

2nd Place: A buy pitch of Pollard Banknote Limited (TSE: PBL) presented by Bhaven Shah and Leon Fitter from York University

3rd Place: A buy pitch of Select Medical Holdings (NYSE: SEM) presented by Joshua Kan and Sophia Ge from Western University

Thank you to all our competitors for your time and effort into this competition and for taking steps toward learning about investing. We hope to see you again next year!

Kind regards,
Maksym Kryworuchko and Arshdeep Toor (Co-Presidents 2018-2019).